Roasted butternut squash and lentil salad

Hello reader,

Today I luckily feel a lot better, so I decided to make a delicious salad! It is a salad with a warm element and I find it suitable for lunch and dinner (to go). Packed with vitamins to keep you healthy.

In advance, sorry for the blue- ish pictures! I make my photos by day light and somehow today it is a bit blue…

2015/01/img_8102.jpg

What you will need for 2 portions:

– 1/2 butternut squash (for the other half: Roast it with the half you need for this recipe and use it in a soup)
– 4 hands full of spinach
– 10 cherry tomatoes
– 150 grams of feta cheese
– 1/2 a red onion
– 100 grams of lentils (I just use canned ones, because I’m lazy)
– 1 clove of garlic
– olive oil
– balsamic vinegar
– pumpkin seeds
– thyme (dried or fresh)
– salt& pepper

How to make it:
1. Preheat your oven to 200 degrees Celsius. Slaughter (yes, slaughter, because it takes quite some strength to cube it) the butternut squash and cut into 1 -2 cm pieces. (If you would like to know how I “slaughter” my butternut squash, let me know so I can make and article about it.)
Put them in a roasting tin, add the garlic clove (with peel), thyme, a shot of oil and salt and pepper. Toss and put in the oven to roast for 30 minutes.

2. Wash your spinach and tomatoes. Halve the tomatoes, slice the onion in thin rings, and cube the feta cheese. Drain and wash your lentils.

3. In a dry pan roast your pumpkin seeds. They are going to pop, so don’t be scared when the do.

4. Pop your spinach, tomatoes, lentils and onion on a plate. Dress with balsamic vinegar and a bit of oil. Divide the squash and the feta cheese over the plate and scatter with the roasted pumpkin seeds. Enjoy!

2015/01/img_8117.jpg

What is your favorite salad? The questions article is coming up tomorrow, so there is still time to comment with your question to me.

Hugs,
Me

Leave a Reply

