The day that is a perfect excuse to cook up a lovely dinner

Hello lovable people of the internet.
Of course it is Valentines day this Saturday! I personally don’t celebrate it since my anniversary is the 15th of March and my boyfriend and I think it is much more fun to celebrate that. Nevertheless I wanted to give you a dinner idea, because whether you are single or not, a good dinner is never wrong!

IMG_3342
Own photo

1. Chips and beef
Last year I made this for my boyfriend and I think almost every man would love this, as long as he isn’t vegetarian of course. I cut the chips myself and triple cooked them to get the ultimate crunch. Besides I had a nice piece of round steak which I simple baked medium- rare and I added some salt and pepper. I think a good steak doesn’t need much more. Served with some steamed broccoli and home made mayonnaise (it is not so hard, trust me). For dessert I made mini cupcakes and I topped it with some frosting and sugar hearts.

2. Rome
Another suggestion I made is making lasagna and not from the freezer! Make your own sauce. Bake an onion in a little olive oil until slight transparant, then add minced garlic and be amazed by the smell. Not for too long, because it is time to add your minced meat. Brown the meat and add around 500 grams of passata. Add a pinch of sugar, salt, pepper, oregano and dried basil. Let it simmer until it is slightly thickened. Butter an oven proof dish and put in a thin layer of sauce, a single layer of lasagna sheets, a layer of sauce and so on. End with a layer of sauce and finish with a generous sprinkle of cheese. Put it in an oven that is preheated to 180 degrees Celsius and bake for 30 minutes. Let the romance flow…

Cupcake with hearts
Own photo

3. Sweety Pie, Honey Bun…
If you both have a sweet tooth you can make a dinner consisting of only deserts or something High Tea style. Start with cute cupcakes, follow with luscious brownies and do not forget a wonderful tiramisu (which means ” Lift me up”), a chocolate mouse or even an Eton Mess or cheesecake!

4. Movie Night
If you feel sad because you are alone, just snuggle up and watch a funny movie. I love watching food related movies (surprised?) like Julie& Julia, Le Chef or maybe Love’s Kitchen. Make yourself some Quesadilla’s or Enchilada’s or Nachos, I love Mexican for comfort food!

5. Boeuf Bourguignon
For a romantic dinner I think the is also a good idea. It just takes a lot of time, so if you don’t mind being around the kitchen for a while and spending some extra money I would highly recommend this.


Source: Pinterest

What are you doing and especially what are you eating on Valentines day? If you have requests for recipes for any of the dishes mentioned, just let me know in the comments. Have a lovable day!

Hugs,
Me

Leave a Reply

