Simple Cooking: Pangasius and Broccoli

Hi dearest readers!

Today I want to show you what I make when I don’t cook very extensive. Last week the broccoli and the Pangasius fillet were on sale in the supermarket, so I bought bigger quantities. I ate half of it last week and half of it yesterday and I have found a way to make a wonderful crust for the fish so I wanted to share. It looks a bit boring, but it is really nice!

I have written this in cup measurements, because I don’t do this super exactly. It is simply not necessary.

What you need (for 1 person)

  • half a broccoli
  • 1 piece of firm white fish (I used Pangasius)
  • half a cup of flour (whole wheat)
  • pesto (I had store-bought Genovese (nut- free))
  • 1/4 cup of breadcrumbs
  • hot cajun spices
  • salt& pepper

How to make it

  1. Make the crumb coat by mixing the flour and breadcrumbs 2:1, the cajun spices, salt and pepper.
  2. Bring a pot with water to the boil. Cut the broccoli into smaller florets.
  3. In a frying pan, heat some butter and olive oil.
  4. Cover your fish with the crumb coat. Pangasius is most of the time wet enough to get the crumb coat to stick without egg.
  5. Bake your fish until it is golden brown and cooked. In the mean time boil your broccoli.
  6. Drain the broccoli, put it back in the pan and add two teaspoons of pesto. Heat this on a low fire until your fish is cooked (if it wasn’t already). Broccoli cools down really fast.
  7. Serve and enjoy!

What is your favorite way to eat broccoli?

Hugs,

Me

Leave a Reply

